J S Bach Fugue No. 1 in C major, BWV 846, from Bach’s Well-tempered Clavier


The Fuga is one of the most complex and original compositions of J.S. Bach. This genre is characterized by the imitation where voices enter like a “relay race”. We can find in it the exposition in the first 6 bars, the counter-exposition at bars 7-10, the six Stretti, a tonic pedal at bars 24-27 and a final coda at three last bars. This Fugue has a “real” answer so it is a “real” Fugue and the particular is that It has no counter-subject. The order in which the voices enter in the Exposition is unusual, as the Subject and Answer do not regularly alternate, but follow one another in the following order: Subject, Answer, Answer, Subject. The Fugue has three complete and three incomplete Stretti. The Stretti at bar 7, Bar 10, and at bars 24-25 are incomplete because all the voices do not take part in them. The complete Stretti in which all the voices take part are in bars 14-15, 16-18, and 19-21.


4 thoughts on “J S Bach Fugue No. 1 in C major, BWV 846, from Bach’s Well-tempered Clavier

  1. Hi there, I found your web site via Google even as searching for a similar matter, your web site came up, it appears to be like great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just become alert to your blog through Google, and located that it is really informative.
    I am gonna be careful for brussels. I will be grateful in the event you continue this in future.
    Lots of other people will likely be benefited out of your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s